Let’s Catch Up

Let’s catch up.  A lot has taken place since I last sat down to type out my little ramblings…..in case you didn’t know…..we moved.  Yep, we left Chicagoland and are now residents of Hotlanta metro area.  Why?  I’m so glad you asked…

Chicago.  I loved the city of Chicago.  I loved her diversity, her determination, her architecture, her food, her people…..just loved it.  I loved our church….Willow Creek is just awesome.  We loved our friends.  We had met some of the most incredible people that I certainly hope to stay in contact with over the years to come.  I was shown how to do Jesus in a way that just healed my soul.

“Sounds awesome, so why move?”  Glad you asked.

  1.  Winters, for me, were brutal.  To walk outside in January and my lungs just cry in pain…I just couldn’t do it.
  2. Lee had an awesome opportunity come up that allowed him to narrow his career focus into more of the things he just loves to do.  Also allowed him to lose the tether to the work phone on the weekends.  LOVE!!!
  3. No more travel for my medical care…Emory has a top notch team for my disease.
  4. Family….we are now just over three hours to his parents and my Dad and sister.
  5. Cost of living.  I think that one needs no further explanation.
  6. BEACH BEACH BEACH….four hours from Atlantic, five hours to Gulf Coast…..

Those are some of the reasons….but mostly because it was time to  move on.  This already feels like home…like the home you want to be at when that sun sets on a life well lived.

What am I loving so far about Hotlanta?  Gosh, southern food.  Southern weather.  Folks dressing up for dinner out on the weekend….I may have to dust off my heels again….and the ability to make a quick trip to see family and not need to mark off three or four days for that trip.  Hills and mountains….won’t lie…flat land and I just don’t get along.  I need to see those hills and mountains.  Oh, and Zombies….seriously…..I’m in Zombieland!

Now, to find a church…..funny….three years ago I would have just sat down in the closest FBC church and called it a day…but Chicago, Willow Creek changed me….God forced that change…and now I want that church that is diverse, refugee focused, non-political, socially aware, where every person is valued for where they are right now-not where folks want them to be.  If you can’t value a person for where they are today, why would they ever want to improve/polish who they are for the future?  A church where people are truly seen….that the outreach of the church is so intentional, you see the hands and feet of Jesus daily in the church…not just on event days.  So, all that to say….we haven’t found a church yet.  We LOVE Passion City, but it’s honestly too far to get involved with during the week.  Atlanta traffic is legit.  So, we keep searching….trusting we will know when we visit “Our Church.”

So, that’s life right now…..we moved.  🙂

Leave a Reply

