Pie, Pie, Pie….and Salmon

I just recently came back from a trip down to the Nashville, Franklin, Columbia, TN area.  Had to see the baby boy perform!  Well, baby to me at least! I arrived to sixty degree weather…and I just wanted to dance in the streets!  I was determined not to wear a coat during my visit and I made that happen all but the last night there…and even then it was just a fleece!  If you have read much of this blog, you know most of my trips revolve around food.  I just love food.  This one was no different.  So, instead of boring you with the details of my trip, I will let today’s blog be a review of three yummy treats/meals I had on this last visit!

A tourist establishment in Franklin, but more of a local place in Columbia, Puckett’s in Columbia was a Sunday stop.  Ya’ll, the fried chicken was so yummy!  Almost had a hint of a lemon pepper base in the batter maybe.  Perfectly crunchy, moist…and paired with the turnip greens…so delicious.  Toss in homemade, like your great-grandmother used to make, peach cobbler…and well…I may have waddled out to the car.  Now that I’ve eaten at both locations, I give a two thumbs up to the Columbia location.  I just find the Franklin location to be very touristy and honestly, not as yummy. (Yes, it was as tasty as it looks….no..we weren’t drinking…just the holder for various items on the table.)

All I can think of now is how much I want this...

All I can think of now is how much I want this…

Next up is the diner in Columbia called “Bucky’s.”  It’s an unassuming place that does what it does and doesn’t try to pretend to be anything but a local diner.  You can order off a menu, but they have a daily lunch selection(s) already prepared that they plate for you.  We had to wait until Tuesday to go….why?  See…growing up, my Mom made a few things that well….I still love to this day…even if I don’t ever make them.  One of those things was/is salmon patties.  (Let me add very quickly that I don’t care for salmon at all…just in the fried goodness of a salmon patty.)  Salmon patties are not to be eaten without some homemade Mac-Cheese made with Velvetta…I’m certain it’s a law…and Bucky’s did not miss that pairing requirement.  Toss in some slow cooked white beans and homemade yeast rolls and you have all the makings of a full belly….and much higher cholesterol.  It was fun to see how the workers knew my Dad already and made a point to make him feel special. Go in…say hello and get one of the daily specials!  You will think your Mammy is in the kitchen!

Pie Sensations

And then….there was pie.  Oh my. In this cute little shop on the Columbia square is Pie Sensations.  Named one of the top ten pie places in America by Paula Deen..well…you know it’s going to be good…but amazing…oh my goodness.  So wonderful.  The staff is so kind.  Just makes ya want to stay all day and eat pie after pie.  My Dad tackled the Coconut Cream, my Sis the Chocolate Silk and I opted for the Peanut Butter Silk.  The BEST Peanut Butter Pie I have ever eaten.  Then, there was this intoxicating smell as we were eating….seems “Whoopie Cakes” were finishing up.  Well, ya know this girl had to have anything that smelled that delicious!  So, by the time we were done with our pie, they were ready!  Four packed perfectly to take to my son as a treat.  Take the best part of a cupcake, add frosting..and voila.  Heaven.  I am so in love with this place and their product, they will be the supplier of all desserts for my son’s Junior Recital reception in April.  You must go….now.

Here's the Whoopie Cake!

Here’s the Whoopie Cake!

Oh and here's the best Peanut Butter Pie!

Oh and here’s the best Peanut Butter Pie!

So, that’s my food review of the few days in the Nashvegas area.  Now, I am simply hungry again for all of the above……wonder if they deliver?

Leave a Reply

