Tis the Season

When asked how my mindset has changed towards Christmas over the years, what a tangled web of thoughts come across my mind.  While the meaning of Christmas has never changed, the way I celebrate it and what I wish for out of the Season has.  The celebration of His birth has grown more meaningful with maturity, but the importance placed on the gifts under tree….well, that has become such a small part of what the Season is for that I would be perfectly “ok” if there was never another gift under the tree.  I know my children, all grown, are gasping for air at that remark.  Don’t worry….I’m not going all crazy on you….yet.  It just seems that with each passing day leading up to Christmas Day, the gifts take on more and more significance.  The hustle and bustle of shopping, this party, that party..this event, that event….do this and do that, because that’s what is expected…..and then Christmas Day comes and goes and Jesus seemed to have such a small role in all of it.  That’s how the Season is changing for me….less on the stuff and fluff…and a feeble attempt to try to lesson the world’s view of the celebration and return my celebration to the reason we even have Christmas.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Getting Seasonal.”

One thought on “Tis the Season

  1. Pingback: Getting Seasonal – Christmas and New Year | Jesus Saviour

Leave a Reply

